Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

GS “Lume Shot”

Having used this picture in the previous post, I would like to say something about it now.

My purpose of taking this picture was to show the highly polished hands and hour markers of the GS. They are almost like mirror.  What I had in mind was to create a picture that shows just the dial, and of course with emphasis on the hands and markers. In other words, they have to stand out. And since I am not show casing the case work, I decided to make the case appear dark. The crown too is not important in this picture and hence I took the opportunity shoot the watch from this particular angle which is different from my usual style.

So the light source is directed at the dial and not much light is used to light up the other parts in order to keep the surrounding dark. At the correct angle, I composed the picture to show the white reflection that the light source had on the markers and hands. I call this a "lume shot" of the GS.

Leave a comment